- Premier Events -

WCRC Members Summer Cruise August 16 (not August 9)

It’s time for the 2014 WCRC Summer Cruise - Saturday, August 16, 2014. **** Note the date change from August 9 to August 16 – we missed the boat on the 9th! **** The Cruise departs City Dock, Newburyport at 2 pm sharp on the sailing catamaran Ninth Wave. Room for a max of 48 so sign up early. The Cruise is open to WCRC members and their families. You will not have to worry about it being the classic three hour cruise – since it’s only 2 1/2 hrs. long. We can bring snacks, entertainment, etc, but alcoholic drinks must be bought on the boat. The club will be subsidizing the cruise so as to keep the cost at only $20 per person – a real bargain. (Don’t forget that drinks will be extra). RSVP to Doug Zechel by July 21 at: doug@smilinwideatryeharbor.com. Click here for more information.

Newburyport High Street Mile Designated as the 2014 USATF-NE One Mile Championship

High Street Mile

Competition and fun for all at WCRC’s Newburyport High Street Mile

USATFNEsmall The Winner’s Circle Running Club’s 24th Annual Newburyport High Street Mile will be run on August 3, 2014. 9:15 AM start start at Atkinson Common in Newburyport, MA. Fast/flat USATF certified straight line course (USATF certification MA07009JK). New for 2014 – the Newburyport High Street Mile has been designated as the USA Track & Field New England One Mile Championship Event! Proceeds benefit the River Rivals (Amesbury, Newburyport, Pentucket, Triton) XC and T&F programs.

Register Online Now!
Click here for a paper application you can print and mail in.

* See race web page for information on discounted rates for USATF-New England member running clubs.

  • FOUR SEPARATE HEATS: Heat 1 - Girl’s & Boy’s Race – Ages 15 and under; Heat 2 – Non-USATF Males and Females - Ages 16 and up; Heat 3 – USATF-NE Women’s Championship Race – Ages 16 and up; Heat 4 – USATF-NE Men’s Championship Race – Ages 16 and up.
  • $5000 TOTAL IN PRIZE MONEY: Top 5 Male/Female Overall $750, $450, $250, $150, $100; Top 3 Male/Female 40+ $150, $100, $50; Top Male/Female 50+ $50; Top Male/Female 60+ $25.
  • USATF-NE TEAMS: Top 3 Male/Female Teams Overall $125, $75, $50; Top Male/Female Team 40+ $50; Top Male/Female Team 50+ $25.
  • COURSE RECORD CASH BONUS to 1st Open Male & Female
  • AGE DIVISION AWARDS: 9&under, 10-12, 13-15, 16-19, 20-29, 30-39, 40-49, 50-59, 60-69, 70+.
  • POST RACE BASH / RAFFLES / SPEED SERIES AWARDS: at the Winner’s Circle Sports Bar following the race, sponsored by the Newburyport Brewing Company.
facebook  High Street Mile on Facebook